About Attraction

 Archeological excavations, which took place at Armaziskhevi in 1937-1946, revealed the remains of the 2nd –3rd cc. The Palace and an enfilade bath represent 2nd-4th cc burials of Pitiakhshes and cist-burials date from 6-9th cc. At the same place, two sand stone stelae were unearthed with lapidary text, one of them the so-called Armazi bilingual, dating from the second half of the 2nd c AD. It represents the epitaph of the Zevakh Pitiakhsh daughter - Sarapite. The texts are inscribed in both Greek and the so-called Armazi writing. A type of Aramaic script is wide spread in old Georgia. The text on the other stela is inscribed in Armazi characters and dates from the 1st c AD. It tells about a successful campaign of Georgians led by king Mithridates Pitiakhsh Sharagas into Armenia. Both stelae, as well as the rich inventory of the burials of the Pitiakhsh, gold and silver jewelry adorned with precious stones, necklaces, diadems, earrings, bracelets, rings, glass and silver vessels, plates and dishes are kept at the Janashia State Museum in Georgia.

 There is an open air museum in Armaziskhevi, where visitors can see the bath of the Pitiakhshes in which the cold and the hot sections were heated by means of hypocaust system. One has an opportunity to see the part of the Palace of the Pitiakhshes and their tombs, sarcophaguses and cists. Various stelae and their fragments decorated by the old Georgian ornaments and tomb stones with Arabic, Persian, Hebrew and Armenian inscriptions are displayed along the wall of the museum.

Direction from Tbilisi